What to Read

What to Read Next

Find new and notable titles, bestsellers, award-winners, and recommended reading lists for teens aged 12-18.

 

Spotlight on New Teen Titles 

These titles are available to hold and borrow through the SAILS Library Network.  Click on a title to check for availability.


 

 

 

Novelist Plus

Need a book recommendation?  Try Novelist Plus!  

Browse for book suggestions by age, genre, and subject or type in a book or author for read-alike recommendations. 

Free access to Middleborough cardholders.  

  

Booklists for Teens

See what's new and notable in our teen collections, plus browse our many booklists.

Click on a title to see its availability or to place a hold.  Suggested titles are aimed at 12 to 18 year-old readers and span a broad range of reading and maturity levels.    


Realistic Fiction

New & Notable
Excuse Me While I Ugly CryCan't Take That AwayDarius the Great Deserves BetterYolkTake Me Home

Booklists

Adventure & Survival Stories for Grades 7-12

Asian Pacific American Heritage Month Booklist  

Books with Strong Female Characters  New!

Books with Strong Male Characters  New!

Great Realistic Fiction for Grades 8-12

The Hate U Give Read-Alikes for Grades 8-12

Historical Fiction for Grades 7-12

Horror Reads for Teens  New!

Humorous Reads for Teens 

LGBTQIA+ Reads for Teens

Middle Grade Adventure and Survival Stories

Middle Grade Fiction

Middle Grade Historical Fiction

Sports Reads for Teens (Fiction, Nonfiction, & Memoirs)

Stories About Friendship for Teens  New!

Teen Beach Reads  New!


Mystery & Thrillers

New & Notable
Ace of SpadesLost in the Never Woods The LakeAll Eyes on HerThe Box in the Woods

Booklists

Middle Grade Mysteries

Mysteries & Thrillers for Teens

Thieves, Criminals & Scoundrels  


Romance

New & Notable
Instructions for DancingThe Lucky ListComing Up for AirDate Me, Bryson KellerTokyo Ever After

Booklists

If You Like Jenny Han's To All the Boys I've Loved Before, Try ...

Paranormal Romance for Teens

Realistic Romance for Grades 7-12


Fantasy

New & Notable
NamesakeRule of WolvesCemetery BoysThe Cruelest Mercy
Once Upon a Dream

Booklists

Here Be Dragons! Stories for Dragon-Loving Teens

Fabulous Fantasy for Grades 7-12

Fractured Fairy Tales for Grades 7-12

Harry Potter Read-a-Likes (PDF)

Knight Tales

Middle Grade Fantasy  New!

Myths & Legends Retold for Grades 6-12

Paranormal Romance for Teens

Rick Riordan (author of Percy Jackson series) Read-a-Likes (PDF)

Superhero Books for Teens  New!


Science Fiction

New & Notable
BlockEarly DeparturesThe Rise of KyoshiSkyhunterA Sky Beyond Storm
>

Booklists

Dystopian Fiction for Grades 7-12

Middle Grade Science Fiction  New!

Outer Space & Alien Encounters for Grades 7-12


Graphic Novels & Manga

New & Notable
Adventure Zone: Petals to the Metal, Volume 3The Shadow of the BatgirlNubiaThe Montague Twins: The Witch's Hand, Volume 1
Roys Run the Riot

Booklists

2020 Great Graphic Novels for Teens from YALSA — the previous year's best titles chosen by librarians and educators

Get Graphic! Top Graphic Novels for Teens


Manga Series We Own

Teen Manga Series by Genre and Age - a brochure of all our teen manga titles organized by genre (fantasy, action, horror, etc.) - last updated November 2020


Nonfiction, Memoirs, and Biographies

New & Notable
Light Filters In: PoemsThe Suffragist Playbook: Your Guide to Changing the WorldCook Anime
Reaching for the Moon: the Autobiography of NASA Mathematician Katherine JohnsonGuinness World Records 2021

Booklists

Books About Activism for Teens 


Summer Reading  

Summer Reading Suggestions for Students in Grade 6 & 7

Summer Reading Suggestions for Students Entering Grade 8


Magazines

Read Magazines Online

 

Popular and Award-Winning Teen Titles

New York Times Bestsellers — Young Adult HardcoverTeens' Top Ten by YALSA 

2021 Teens' Top Ten Nominees — The Teens' Top Ten is a "teen choice" list where teens around the country nominate and choose their favorite books of the previous year.