Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

  

In observance of Juneteenth, the Library will be closed on Wednesday, June 19, 2024.

What to Read

What to Read Next

Find new and notable titles, bestsellers, award-winners, and recommended reading lists for teens aged 12-18.

 

Spotlight on New Teen Titles 

These titles are available to hold and borrow through the SAILS Library Network.  Click on a title to check for availability.


 

 

 

Novelist Plus

Need a book recommendation?  Try Novelist Plus!  

Browse for book suggestions by age, genre, and subject or type in a book or author for read-alike recommendations. 

Free access to Middleborough cardholders.  

 

Finding Just Right Books

How to Find Just Right Books for Kids and Teens by Reading Level

  • Looking to find a book with a similar reading level as the one you just read and liked?  
  • Want more reading recommendations that match your interest and reading level?
  • Looking to find a book by Accelerated Reader or Lexile reading levels?

Here are some Searching Tips for Finding Just Right Books Using Online Library Resources. 

 

 

Booklists for Teens

See what's new and notable in our teen collections, plus browse our many booklists.

Click on a title to see its availability or to place a hold.  Suggested titles are aimed at 12 to 18 year-old readers and span a broad range of reading and maturity levels.    


2023 Summer Reading  

 Summer Reading Suggestions for Incoming 7th and 8th Grades

Find great reads for middle school students. Scroll down for a 7th grade list, then 8th grade list.

Summer Reading for Grades 9-12 


Realistic Fiction

New & Notable
Every Single LieThe Blood YearsLouder Than HungerThe Way I Am NowGather

Booklists

Adventure & Survival Stories for Grades 7-12

Asian Pacific American Heritage Month Booklist  

Books with Strong Female Characters  

Books with Strong Male Characters  

Celebrating Hispanic Heritage Month Booklist 

Friendship Stories

Great Realistic Fiction for Grades 8-12

The Hate U Give Read-Alikes for Grades 8-12

Historical Fiction for Grades 7-12

Horror Reads for Teens 

Humorous Reads for Teens 

LGBTQIA+ Reads for Teens  (updated Dec. 2023)

Middle Grade Adventure and Survival Stories

Middle Grade Fiction

Middle Grade Historical Fiction

Sports Reads for Teens (Fiction, Nonfiction, & Memoirs)

Teen Beach Reads 


Mystery & Thrillers

New & Notable
Thieves GambitGirl Forgotten Bad BloodThat's Not My NameWrecker

Booklists

Middle Grade Mysteries

Mysteries & Thrillers for Teens

Thieves, Criminals & Scoundrels  


Romance

New & Notable
Borrow My HeartDungeons & DramaCheck & MateI Hope This Doesn't Find YouA Curse for True Love

Booklists

If You Like Jenny Han's To All the Boys I've Loved Before, Try ...

Paranormal Romance for Teens

Realistic Romance for Grades 7-12


Fantasy

New & Notable
MurtaghCurious TidesAll This Twisted GlorySky's End
What the River Knows

Booklists

Here Be Dragons! Stories for Dragon-Loving Teens

Fabulous Fantasy for Grades 7-12

Fractured Fairy Tales for Grades 7-12

Harry Potter Read-a-Likes (PDF)

Knight Tales

Middle Grade Fantasy  

Myths & Legends Retold for Grades 6-12

Paranormal Romance for Teens

Rick Riordan (author of Percy Jackson series) Read-a-Likes (PDF)

Superhero Books for Teens  

Witches & Wizards 


Science Fiction

New & Notable
Getaway Miles Morales: Suspended GleaningsThrowbackThe Notorious Scarlett and Browne

Booklists

Dystopian Fiction for Grades 7-12

Middle Grade Science Fiction  

Outer Space & Alien Encounters for Grades 7-12


Graphic Novels & Manga

New & Notable
Bone: More Tall Tales Lunar New Year Love Story Look On the Bright Side Stars In Their Eyes
Turtle Bread

Booklists

2023 Great Graphic Novels for Teens from YALSA — the previous year's best titles chosen by librarians and educators

Get Graphic! Top Graphic Novels for Teens


Manga Series We Own

Teen Manga Series by Genre and Age - a brochure of all our teen manga titles organized by genre (fantasy, action, horror, etc.) - last updated September 2022


Nonfiction, Memoirs, and Biographies

New & Notable
Killers of the Flower MoonUnbreakableShipwrecked!
Where to Start

Booklists

Books About Activism for Teens 


Summer Reading  

Summer Reading Suggestions for Incoming 7th and 8th Grades (2022)

 

Magazines

Read Magazines Online

 

Popular and Award-Winning Teen Titles

New York Times Bestsellers — Young Adult HardcoverTeens' Top Ten by YALSA 

2023 Teens' Top Ten Winners — The Teens' Top Ten is a "teen choice" list where teens around the country nominate and choose their favorite books of the previous year.

Massachusetts Teen Choice Book Award — This is the only award in the Bay State that invites students in grades 7-12 to select their top new books of the year!