What to Read

What to Read Next

Find new and notable titles, bestsellers, award-winners, and recommended reading lists for teens aged 12-18.

 

Spotlight on New Teen Titles 

These titles are available to hold and borrow through the SAILS Library Network.  Click on a title to check for availability.


 

 

 

Novelist Plus

Need a book recommendation?  Try Novelist Plus!  

Browse for book suggestions by age, genre, and subject or type in a book or author for read-alike recommendations. 

Free access to Middleborough cardholders.  

  

Booklists for Teens

See what's new and notable in our teen collections, plus browse our many booklists.

Click on a title to see its availability or to place a hold.  Suggested titles are aimed at 12 to 18 year-old readers and span a broad range of reading and maturity levels.    


Realistic Fiction

New & Notable
They Went LeftWhat I CarryParachutesMoxieConcrete Rose

Booklists

Adventure & Survival Stories for Grades 7-12

Asian Pacific American Heritage Month Booklist   New!

Great Realistic Fiction for Grades 8-12

The Hate U Give Read-Alikes for Grades 8-12

Historical Fiction for Grades 7-12

Humorous Reads for Teens 

LGBTQIA+ Reads for Teens

Sports Reads for Teens (Fiction, Nonfiction, & Memoirs)


Mystery & Thrillers

New & Notable
Rules for VanishingThe Inheritance Games The LakeThey Wish They Were UslThe Initial Insult

Booklists

Mysteries & Thrillers for Teens

Thieves, Criminals & Scoundrels  


Romance

New & Notable
This is My Brain in Loveif I'm Being HonestInstant Karma A Cuban Girl's Guide to Tea and Tomorrow  You Should See Me In a Crown

Booklists

If You Like Jenny Han's To All the Boys I've Loved Before, Try ...

Paranormal Romance for Teens

Realistic Romance for Grades 7-12


Fantasy

New & Notable
All the Wandering LightThe Assassination of Brangwain SpurgeOne True KingWe Free the Stars
Phoenix First Must Burn: Sixteen Stories of Black Girl Magic, Hope, and Resistance

Booklists

Here Be Dragons! Stories for Dragon-Loving Teens

Fabulous Fantasy for Grades 7-12

Fractured Fairy Tales for Grades 7-12

Knight Tales

Myths & Legends Retold for Grades 6-12

Paranormal Romance for Teens


Science Fiction

New & Notable
SanctuaryHawkRebelBallad of Songbirds and SnakesA Sky Beyond Storm
>

Booklists

Dystopian Fiction for Grades 7-12

Outer Space & Alien Encounters for Grades 7-12


Graphic Novels

New & Notable
The Cat I Never Named: A True Story of Love, War, and SurvivalBig Black: Stand at AtticaBanned Book ClubLet's Make Ramen: A Comic Book Cookbook
Flamer

Booklists

2020 Great Graphic Novels for Teens from YALSA — the previous year's best titles chosen by librarians and educators

Get Graphic! Top Graphic Novels for Teens


Manga Series We Own

Teen Manga Series by Genre and Age - a brochure of all our teen manga titles organized by genre (fantasy, action, horror, etc.) - last updated November 2020


Nonfiction, Memoirs, and Biographies

New & Notable
Light Filters In: PoemsTaking On the Plastics CrisisEndometriosis: A Guide for Girls
Body Talk: 37 Voices Explore Our Radical AnatomyWe Are Displaced:  My Journey and Stories from Refugee Girls Around the World

Booklists

Books About Activism for Teens 


Summer Reading  

2020 School Summer Reading for NMS & MHS

Summer Reading Suggestions for Students in Grade 6 & 7

Summer Reading Suggestions for Students Entering Grade 8


Popular and Award-Winning Teen Titles

Teens' Top Ten by YALSANew York Times Bestsellers — Young Adult Hardcover 

2021 Teens' Top Ten Nominees — The Teens' Top Ten is a "teen choice" list where teens around the country nominate and choose their favorite books of the previous year.