What to Read


What to Read Next

Find new and notable titles, bestsellers, award-winners, and recommended reading lists for teens aged 12-18.


Spotlight on New Teen Titles 

These titles are available to hold and borrow through the SAILS Library Network.  Click on a title to check for availability.


 

 


Novelist Plus

Need a book recommendation?  Try Novelist Plus!  

Browse for book suggestions by age, genre, and subject or type in a book or author for read-alike recommendations. 

Free access to Middleborough cardholders.  

  

 

Popular and Award-Winning Teen Titles

Teens' Top Ten by YALSANew York Times Bestsellers — Young Adult Hardcover 

2020 Teens' Top Ten Nominees — The Teens' Top Ten is a "teen choice" list where teens around the country nominate and choose their favorite books of the previous year.


Middleborough Booklists for Teens

See what's new and notable in our teen collections.   Click on a title to see its availability or to place a hold.

Suggested titles are listed by genre (fantasy, romance, realistic) and format (graphic novels, manga).  Selections are aimed at 12 to 18 year-old readers and span a broad range of reading and maturity levels.    


Realistic Fiction

New & Notable
The How and the WhyThe Last True Poets of the SeaWho Put This Song On?All-American Muslim GirlYes No Maybe So

Lists

Adventure & Survival Stories for Grades 7-12

Great Realistic Fiction for Grades 8-12

The Hate U Give Read-Alikes for Grades 8-12

Historical Fiction for Grades 7-12

LGBTQIA+ Reads for Teens

Sports Reads for Teens


Mystery & Thrillers

New & Notable
One of Us Is NextThe Missing SeasonThe Hand on the WallSadie

Lists

Mysteries & Thrillers for Teens


Romance

New & Notable
Color Outside the Lines: Stories About LoveEmergency ContactThe Lines We CrossWhat To Say NextSick Kids in Love

Lists

If You Like Jenny Han's To All the Boys I've Loved Before, Try ...

Paranormal Romance for Teens

Realistic Romance for Grades 7-12


Fantasy

New & Notable
A Heart So Fierce and BrokenThe Conference of the BirdsFireborneFive Dark Fates
The Night Country

Lists

Fabulous Fantasy for Grades 7-12

Fractured Fairy Tales for Grades 7-12

Myths & Legends Retold for Grades 6-12

Paranormal Romance for Teens


Science Fiction

New & Notable
NyxiaSupernovaBallad of Songbirds and SnakesPitch Dark
The Toll

Lists

Dystopian Fiction for Grades 7-12

Outer Space & Alien Encounters for Grades 7-12


Graphic Novels

New & Notable
Blackbird 1Blade Runner 2019The Complete Elfquest Volume 1Stranger Things 1
The Unstoppable Wasp

Lists

2020 Great Graphic Novels for Teens from YALSA — the previous year's best titles chosen by librarians and educators

Great Graphic Novels for Teens


Summer Reading  

Summer Reading Suggestions for Students in Grade 6 & 7

Summer Reading Suggestions for Students Entering Grade 8

 

Manga Series We Own

Teen Manga Series by Genre and Age