What to Read

What to Read Next

Find new and notable titles, bestsellers, award-winners, and recommended reading lists for teens aged 12-18.


Spotlight on New Teen Titles 

These titles are available to hold and borrow through the SAILS Library Network.  Click on a title to check for availability.


 

 

 


Novelist Plus

Need a book recommendation?  Try Novelist Plus!  

Browse for book suggestions by age, genre, and subject or type in a book or author for read-alike recommendations. 

Free access to Middleborough cardholders.  

  

 

Popular and Award-Winning Teen Titles

Teens' Top Ten by YALSANew York Times Bestsellers — Young Adult Hardcover 

2020 Teens' Top Ten Nominees — The Teens' Top Ten is a "teen choice" list where teens around the country nominate and choose their favorite books of the previous year.


Middleborough Booklists for Teens

See what's new and notable in our teen collections, plus browse our many booklists.

Click on a title to see its availability or to place a hold.  Suggested titles are aimed at 12 to 18 year-old readers and span a broad range of reading and maturity levels.    


Realistic Fiction

New & Notable
The Light in Hidden PlacesFelix Ever AfterParachutesFuriaWe Are Not Free

Booklists

Adventure & Survival Stories for Grades 7-12

Great Realistic Fiction for Grades 8-12

The Hate U Give Read-Alikes for Grades 8-12

Historical Fiction for Grades 7-12

Humorous Reads for Teens 

LGBTQIA+ Reads for Teens

Sports Reads for Teens (Fiction, Nonfiction, & Memoirs)


Mystery & Thrillers

New & Notable
CousinsI Killed Zoe Spanos All Your Twisted SecretsThey Wish They Were UslThe Cheerleaders

Booklists

Mysteries & Thrillers for Teens

Thieves, Criminals & Scoundrels  


Romance

New & Notable
Today Tonight TomorrowBreathlessInstant Karma A Cuban Girl's Guide to Tea and Tomorrow  You Should See Me In a Crown

Booklists

If You Like Jenny Han's To All the Boys I've Loved Before, Try ...

Paranormal Romance for Teens

Realistic Romance for Grades 7-12


Fantasy

New & Notable
FableThe Silvered Serpents The Left-Handed Booksellers of LondonReturn of the Thief
The Royal Ranger: The Missing Prince

Booklists

Here Be Dragons! Stories for Dragon-Loving Teens

Fabulous Fantasy for Grades 7-12

Fractured Fairy Tales for Grades 7-12

Knight Tales

Myths & Legends Retold for Grades 6-12

Paranormal Romance for Teens


Science Fiction

New & Notable
SanctuaryHawkRebelBallad of Songbirds and SnakesA Sky Beyond Storm
>

Booklists

Dystopian Fiction for Grades 7-12

Outer Space & Alien Encounters for Grades 7-12


Graphic Novels

New & Notable
The Cat I Never Named: A True Story of Love, War, and SurvivalBig Black: Stand at AtticaBanned Book ClubThe Last Halloween, Vol. 1
Flamer

Booklists

2020 Great Graphic Novels for Teens from YALSA — the previous year's best titles chosen by librarians and educators

Get Graphic! Top Graphic Novels for Teens


Manga Series We Own

Teen Manga Series by Genre and Age - a brochure of all our teen manga titles organized by genre (fantasy, action, horror, etc.) - last updated November 2020


Nonfiction, Memoirs, and Biographies

New & Notable
Gone to the WoodsThe Rise and Fall of Charles LindberghEndometriosis: A Guide for Girls
Jane Against the World: Roe v. Wade and the Fight for Reproductive Rights Queerfully and Wonderfully Made:A Guide for LGBTQ+ Christian Teens

Booklists

Books About Activism for Teens 


Summer Reading  

2020 School Summer Reading for NMS & MHS

Summer Reading Suggestions for Students in Grade 6 & 7

Summer Reading Suggestions for Students Entering Grade 8