The Library closes at 3:00p on Wednesday, November 25 and is closed all day Thursday, November 26 in observance of Thanksgiving.

What to Read

What to Read Next

Find new and notable titles, bestsellers, award-winners, and recommended reading lists for teens aged 12-18.


Spotlight on New Teen Titles 

These titles are available to hold and borrow through the SAILS Library Network.  Click on a title to check for availability.


 

 

 


Novelist Plus

Need a book recommendation?  Try Novelist Plus!  

Browse for book suggestions by age, genre, and subject or type in a book or author for read-alike recommendations. 

Free access to Middleborough cardholders.  

  

 

Popular and Award-Winning Teen Titles

Teens' Top Ten by YALSANew York Times Bestsellers — Young Adult Hardcover 

2020 Teens' Top Ten Nominees — The Teens' Top Ten is a "teen choice" list where teens around the country nominate and choose their favorite books of the previous year.


Middleborough Booklists for Teens

See what's new and notable in our teen collections, plus browse our many booklists.

Click on a title to see its availability or to place a hold.  Suggested titles are aimed at 12 to 18 year-old readers and span a broad range of reading and maturity levels.    


Realistic Fiction

New & Notable
Punching AirBe Not Far From meThe Black FlamingoSlayClap When You Land

Lists

Adventure & Survival Stories for Grades 7-12

Great Realistic Fiction for Grades 8-12

The Hate U Give Read-Alikes for Grades 8-12

Historical Fiction for Grades 7-12

Humorous Reads for Teens  [New]

LGBTQIA+ Reads for Teens

Sports Reads for Teens (Fiction, Nonfiction, & Memoirs)


Mystery & Thrillers

New & Notable
One of Us Is NextAll Your Twisted SecretsThe Hand on the WallThe Cheerleaders

Lists

Mysteries & Thrillers for Teens

Thieves, Criminals & Scoundrels   [New]


Romance

New & Notable
Tweet CuteThe Gravity of UsThe Lines We CrossWhat To Say NextSick Kids in Love

Lists

If You Like Jenny Han's To All the Boys I've Loved Before, Try ...

Paranormal Romance for Teens

Realistic Romance for Grades 7-12


Fantasy

New & Notable
Chain of GoldGirl, Serpent, ThornThe Kinder PoisonA Song of Wraiths and Ruin
Elatsoe

Lists

Here Be Dragons! Stories for Dragon-Loving Teens

Fabulous Fantasy for Grades 7-12

Fractured Fairy Tales for Grades 7-12

Knight Tales

Myths & Legends Retold for Grades 6-12

Paranormal Romance for Teens


Science Fiction

New & Notable
HawkSupernovaBallad of Songbirds and SnakesThe Loop
The Toll

Lists

Dystopian Fiction for Grades 7-12

Outer Space & Alien Encounters for Grades 7-12


Graphic Novels

New & Notable
Almost American GirlTeen Titans: Beast BoyDancing at the Pity Party: A Dead Mom MemoirHeartstopper 2
RWBY: Official Manga Anthology, Vol. 1: Red Like Roses

Lists

2020 Great Graphic Novels for Teens from YALSA — the previous year's best titles chosen by librarians and educators

Get Graphic! Top Graphic Novels for Teens


Nonfiction, Memoirs, and Biographies

New & Notable
OrdinaryHazards
It's Trevor Noah: Born a Crime: Stories from a South African Childhood, Young Reader's EditionThis Book is Anti-RacistStamped: Racism, Antiracism, and YouTrans+ Love, Sex, Romance, and Being You

Lists

Books About Activism for Teens  [New]


Summer Reading  

2020 School Summer Reading for NMS & MHS

Summer Reading Suggestions for Students in Grade 6 & 7

Summer Reading Suggestions for Students Entering Grade 8

 

Manga Series We Own

Teen Manga Series by Genre and Age - a brochure of all our teen manga titles organized by genre (fantasy, action, horror, etc.) - last updated November 2020