What to Read

What to Read Next

Find new and notable titles, bestsellers, award-winners, and recommended reading lists for teens aged 12-18.

 

Spotlight on New Teen Titles 

These titles are available to hold and borrow through the SAILS Library Network.  Click on a title to check for availability.


 

 

 

Novelist Plus

Need a book recommendation?  Try Novelist Plus!  

Browse for book suggestions by age, genre, and subject or type in a book or author for read-alike recommendations. 

Free access to Middleborough cardholders.  

  

Booklists for Teens

See what's new and notable in our teen collections, plus browse our many booklists.

Click on a title to see its availability or to place a hold.  Suggested titles are aimed at 12 to 18 year-old readers and span a broad range of reading and maturity levels.    


Realistic Fiction

New & Notable
Aristotle and Dante Dive Into the Waters of the WorldDeadWednesdayDeadWednesdayYou'd Be Home NowPumpkin

Booklists

Adventure & Survival Stories for Grades 7-12

Asian Pacific American Heritage Month Booklist  

Books with Strong Female Characters  

Books with Strong Male Characters  

Friendship Stories

Great Realistic Fiction for Grades 8-12

The Hate U Give Read-Alikes for Grades 8-12

Historical Fiction for Grades 7-12

Horror Reads for Teens 

Humorous Reads for Teens 

LGBTQIA+ Reads for Teens

Middle Grade Adventure and Survival Stories

Middle Grade Fiction

Middle Grade Historical Fiction

Sports Reads for Teens (Fiction, Nonfiction, & Memoirs)

Teen Beach Reads 


Mystery & Thrillers

New & Notable
As Good As DeadLost in the Never Woods The LakeYou're So DeadThat Weekend

Booklists

Middle Grade Mysteries

Mysteries & Thrillers for Teens

Thieves, Criminals & Scoundrels  


Romance

New & Notable
The DamnedKate in WaitingLove & OlivesPerfectly ParvinBlackout

Booklists

If You Like Jenny Han's To All the Boys I've Loved Before, Try ...

Paranormal Romance for Teens

Realistic Romance for Grades 7-12


Fantasy

New & Notable
NamesakeThe Lost Book of the WhiteBlood & HoneyFlamefall
Six Crimson Cranes

Booklists

Here Be Dragons! Stories for Dragon-Loving Teens

Fabulous Fantasy for Grades 7-12

Fractured Fairy Tales for Grades 7-12

Harry Potter Read-a-Likes (PDF)

Knight Tales

Middle Grade Fantasy  

Myths & Legends Retold for Grades 6-12

Paranormal Romance for Teens

Rick Riordan (author of Percy Jackson series) Read-a-Likes (PDF)

Superhero Books for Teens  


Science Fiction

New & Notable
BlockEarly DeparturesThe Rise of KyoshiSkyhunterA Sky Beyond Storm
>

Booklists

Dystopian Fiction for Grades 7-12

Middle Grade Science Fiction  

Outer Space & Alien Encounters for Grades 7-12


Graphic Novels & Manga

New & Notable
Catwoman: SoulstealerGo With the FlowThe Dire Days of Willoweep ManorRun: Book One
Sentient

Booklists

2020 Great Graphic Novels for Teens from YALSA — the previous year's best titles chosen by librarians and educators

Get Graphic! Top Graphic Novels for Teens


Manga Series We Own

Teen Manga Series by Genre and Age - a brochure of all our teen manga titles organized by genre (fantasy, action, horror, etc.) - last updated November 2020


Nonfiction, Memoirs, and Biographies

New & Notable
Light Filters In: PoemsThe Suffragist Playbook: Your Guide to Changing the WorldCook Anime
Reaching for the Moon: the Autobiography of NASA Mathematician Katherine JohnsonGuinness World Records 2021

Booklists

Books About Activism for Teens 


Summer Reading  

Summer Reading Suggestions for Students in Grade 6 & 7

Summer Reading Suggestions for Students Entering Grade 8


Magazines

Read Magazines Online

 

Popular and Award-Winning Teen Titles

New York Times Bestsellers — Young Adult HardcoverTeens' Top Ten by YALSA 

2021 Teens' Top Ten Nominees — The Teens' Top Ten is a "teen choice" list where teens around the country nominate and choose their favorite books of the previous year.